“Frame” earring rack

Dremel 4000 blueprint - earring frameMy projects, it seems, come in groups. I started out with the Dremel 4000 by making a wooden ring and then went on to make two more in quick succession. More recently, I got going with the Bento Box and shortly after used the same mitre joining technique to make a kitchen tray. Today, I followed up on that with a third mitred frame, this one to serve as Mari’s earring rack.

The idea for this came from browsing Pinterest: there, someone had bought a picture frame, strung two or three lines of wire across it, and used those to hang necklaces and earrings. The only thing that was different about my version was that the frame was not store-bought but made out of 3.5cm-wide wooden corners: exactly the same approach as I used for the frame of the Bento Box. The frame is roughly 25 × 35 cm, with 45° cuts joined up to make square corners. The last two times I made mitred cuts, I did so with my own flimsy and undersized mitre box. This time, things went infinitely faster and smoother thanks to the fact that I had spent €9 on a mitre box / saw set.

Dremel 4000 - mitre box & sawPassing through the aisles of my local hardware store, I looked wistfully at powered mitre saws and even the infinitely adjustable manual mitre saw, but those were just too big and expensive for my little kitchen workshop. So, I left the store with something like this, which was still more than I had intended to buy – I was a little upset that the mitre box was not available on its own. However, after using the new saw for only a few minutes, I became very happy with this purchase. Compared to my older utility saw, the wide stiff blade, the angled handle, and the smaller teeth on the new mitre saw make it wonderfully suited for smooth straight cuts. The mitre box, not surprisingly, is also a huge improvement on my own handiwork, with larger dimensions, sturdy walls, and precise 90°, 45° & 22.5° angles plus a 45° face angle. Slicing through the soft pine of the wooden corners was a (very accurate) breeze. And then, putting the frame together, with all sides fitting to each other properly and all angles lining up, was a delight in comparison to the Bento Box experience.

Dremel 4000 - earring frame midAfter the PVA glue set overnight, I attached the two plywood supports that keep the frame tilted slightly backward. These were cut out and shaped while held together with C-clamps for perfect symmetry. I used the new saw for the straight cut and a fret saw for the curved ones. Final shaping and finishing was done with the 432 sanding band using the 576 sanding / grinding guide to keep things nice and straight.

I then drilled 4 holes into each side of the frame using a 1.2mm (3/64″) drill bit in a 482 collet, and then threaded through these some artistic wire Mari had lying around. Des volunteered to deliver the finished product to its recipient (she enjoys bringing good news 🙂 ), and Mari quickly went to work filling out the frame with earrings and necklaces:

Dremel 4000 - earring frame finished

4 comments

  1. Mari

    A very good job done! I’m very happy with it. It also looks very nice – my precious accessories in the frame 🙂
    I’m also glad that the investment into the new tool made the work process easier and enjoyable for you.

  2. Pingback: Made: Bento Box « The Dremel Amateur
  3. Erin

    You didn’t mention it (and I’m 3 yrs late), but I’ve seen these made using 2 strands of intertwined fine wire or thickish fishing line. It enables users to very specifically place earrings securely, reducing the possibility that an earthquake, oversized tractor trailer rumbling by, or cat (or toddler) leaping for irresistable shiny trinkets will send one’s little lovelies flying everywhere. I imagine it would also work with fine chains and bracelets.
    I’m not certain, but I think I’ve also seen these with a single strand of green dental floss (perhaps green doesn’t show dirt/soil/skin oils as readily as white?), enabling users to place earrings between the fibers of the floss, yielding the same result.

    I’m enjoying your site and appreciate the benefit of your experience as I try to figure out how best to cut a 4″ circle for a dryer vent hose out of existing plywood with other lines already in place. I’m deciding between multipurpose cutting bit vs. Easy-Lock cutting wheel vs. Harbor Freight rotary tool metal cutting wheel. I hadn’t even considered doing a test run on scrap first, so you’ve absolutely saved me from the near certainty of enormous, potentially expensive, errors!

    • Nikita

      Thanks for the feedback! It comes at a rather opportune time as I need to fix the earring rack after our lovely 3-yr-old managed to reach it with her characteristic enthusiasm and snapped the wire. For the second time… Floss sounds like a neat idea

Comments Welcome!

