Polishing a fork

Sure, this might not be the most epic post. Then again, if you’ve got a lot of forks to polish… I’m just sayin’.

I haven’t done any work with metal yet, so I thought I’d give it a go. Nothing major here, just trying a few polishing accessories. I used a standard stainless steel fork that was in a decent enough shape overall, though it was covered in small scuffs and scratches from years of use. I’ll let the picture do the talking first:

Dremel 4000 - Polishing a fork

And now, from left to right:

  • 511E EZ Lock finishing abrasive buff: This accessory is not actually meant for polishing but rather for removing paint and other types of cleaning. Using it on the fork, though, gave the metal my favourite finish. It removed (or covered up?) all the miscellaneous scratches and dings and replaced them with a nice, smooth, unidirectional matte brushed finish.
  • 403 nylon bristle brush: Dremel says to use it “for light deburring, cleaning and polishing of silverware, jewelry and other precious metals”. In my hands, it didn’t do a thing to the fork.
  • 414 felt polishing wheel: I used it with the 421 polishing compound, and it gave the best smooth polished shine. This would be my weapon of choice when trying to make something bright and sparkly.
  • 425 emery impregnated polishing disc: The most aggressive polishing solution of the four. While it was definitely up for the job, I’m not sure I was: it was impossible to get a smooth solid shine with this disc. Instead, with every pass, it left individual shiny tracks that refused to blend with each other. I later went over the same area with the 414 wheel + 421 polishing compound, but was still unable to make the surface look uniform.  My guess is that the 425 disc is meant for initial polishing of rough surfaces and/or that I am not skilled enough yet to use it.

Now, go get cracking on that silverware drawer!

Comments Welcome!

