Blueprint – pen rack

Dremel 4000 blueprint - Pen RackAnother hobby I have is collecting and using fountain pens. I have 19 so far, and until recently they were stored upright, like toothbrushes, in a small cardboard box. Christmas brought me a very pleasant surprise in the form of a leather storage pouch, hand-made by my father-in-law:

Dremel 4000 - leather pen pouch

Despite this, I would still like to make something with my own hands. My original idea was this – “The Crown”:

Dremel 4000 blueprint - Pen Rack

Two of these would be placed ~8-10cm apart and joined with 2 or 3 wooden dowels (the circles). The disadvantage of this design was its less-than-efficient use of space. I briefly considered making the racks stackable, but then discarded that idea. After sketching several other designs in Paper,

Dremel 4000 blueprint - Pen Racks

I finally decided on the “Christmas tree” in the bottom right. The final dimensions and shape have yet to be decided upon, but I do know that I’ll use only two “trees” instead of three shown in the picture. Again, due to the lack of materials, I’ll probably make the rack out of plywood.

4 comments

  1. Anastasia

    Awesome to hear you’re keeping busy with your hands and that your new family is equally DIY-savvy as our Belorussian relatives, we just got all soft and consumeristic in North America.

    I also like the Christmas Tree best and just have one question: why do you keep toothbrushes in boxes?

    🙂

  2. Pingback: Another one bites the dust… « The Dremel Amateur
  3. Pingback: Made – Pen Rack « The Dremel Amateur

Comments Welcome!

